10/7 Swift to Forest Road 1270

I camped just north of Packwood on forest land.  I like finding those cool spots and this was a good one.  It was a swimming hole on a little river.  I even had a rope swing and a bank to jump off.  I put my tent up ride next to the stream.  There was a nice area for camping with several stone fire rings.  This was in a grove of towering old growth trees.  Stunning.

image

The was a white truck parked at the end of this road so I was wondering where this person was as it got later in the evening.  There was a red canoe on the far bank of the river.   Eventually I heard voices and it was two men.  I heard them talking and they noticed me.  I said “hi” from inside my tent but they refused to respond.  They were dressed in full camo.  Whatever, I was tired and wanted to rest. 

At around 7pm I hear a very loud explosion in the distance.  This was not a gun.  It was like one of those really loud fireworks that just make a big boom.  Then a few seconds later, there was a second explosion, except closer this time.  It was those two guys on the other side of the river!  I yelled, “what the hell was that!?”. They didn’t respond.  Then I hear two planes approaching, flying very low to ground.  They were small planes both in width and in length, with large instrumentation below each wing.  They passed very low and were quite loud.

A very weird experience, but I guess it was some military exercise.  Or the Illuminati.  Definitely Illuminati.

image

Ride time: 6 hours 26 mins

Distance: 68.5 miles

Avg: 10.6. Max: 37.3

2 thoughts on “10/7 Swift to Forest Road 1270”

  1. Hi Max! Beautiful pics….what are you using for a camera? Big storms coming early week. Hope you’re in a good spot then. Safe travels. :0)
    Audrey
    Bend, OR

    Like

Leave a comment